Jun 10

Road Race League 2011 – Event 4

Another good night of racing on the Etton course with the handicapping working out alright again for the scratch group, although they had to work very hard to make up the deficit. On a fairly calm, warm evening a depleted first group set off at 7 o’clock, They could have been allocated another couple of minutes advantage but the course, unfortunately, is too short for that. They were: Steve Coates, Alan Gay, Nicola Moore and Kevin Dodsworth.

Group Two, off at 4 minutes, were Andrew Carroll, Paul Campbell, Richard Cutsforth, Lee Coulson, Paul Drop, Nicholas Fairfield, Stuart Fletcher, Glen Harrison, Sam Hoad, John Hopper, Chris Hutchinson, Graham Lonsdale, Gerry Lumb, Craig Medcalf, Simon Pickering, Brad Palmer, Derek Palmer, Sebastian Pickard, Rob Stones, Tim White, Paul Noble, Peter Cox, Tom England an Mark Mckeown.

The 17 riders starting a further 2 minutes back were: David Atkin, Benjamin Bell, David Betts, Rob Brown, Martin Cockerill, Garry Fulstow, Tony Goundry, Chris Holland, Steve Johnson, Steve Macklin, Stewart Pickard, Paul Rymer, Gary Trees, Paul Waddington, Mark Robinson, Gary Knowles and Owen Sparvon.

Another minute and a half separated  the seven riders in group four which comprised: Mel Blackford, David Brearley, Peter Fielding Smith, Dean Fulstow, Lewis Jackson, Stephen Swales and Jason Young.

The scratch group had eight riders and started another two minutes back. They were: Chris Daddy, Karl Downs, Matthew Fenton, Ben Ives, Nick Coupland, Richard Moore, David Shackleton and Nathan Wilson.

The first group lost a rider by the end of lap one but the three remaining seemed to be working well together. Group two were keeping their composure but Stewart Pickard tried to stir things up in group 3 coming through with a handful of seconds advantage. It may have looked foolhardy but if two or three of the stronger ones in the group had joined forces they may have kept away to the finish.

Groups one and two merged on the third lap, as did the scratch group catching group 4 also on this lap after quite a fast start. It took six laps for group three to catch group two and it was only on the final climb, not a mile from the finish, that the scratch group made contact. Lap times were:

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4Group 5
Lap One11.5210.3710.2210.189.35
Lap Two12.2210.2710.1410.229.33
Lap Three11.0910.1910.2010.089.40
Lap Four10.3410.119.53
Lap Five10.4510.159.48
Lap Six10.389.589.53
Lap Seven10.009.28


Once again Dave Shackleton fought his way to the front to get his second brilliant win, with Chris Daddy close behind him. David Brearley led in the rest of the field, a bunch of fifty riders and all but one finishing within the minute.

Next event is at Burton Fleming, organised by the Bridlington CC. It starts at 7:30 and uses the 10 mile Time Trial course. The changing rooms/signing on will be at Burton Fleming Village Hall and there will be parking space also in an adjacent field. There must be NO PARKING on the Burton Fleming to Grindale road.




160David ShackletonWilsons Wheels RT51:17:20
216Chris DaddyStar Bikes RT5s.t.
36David BrearleyCottingham Coureurs4s.t.
461Stephen SwalesActive/CP Cycles RT4s.t.
537Ben IvesWe love Mountains RT5s.t.
622Matthew FentonCottingham Couriers5s.t.
715Lee CoulsonHull Thursday RC2s.t.
871Mark RobinsonActive/CP Cycles RT3s.t.
935John HopperCottingham Couriers2s.t.
1062Gary TreesWilsons Wheels3s.t.
1120Paul DropVelo Club Beverley2s.t.
1236Chris HutchinsonBridlington CC2s.t.
1376Owen Sparvon3s.t.
145Mel BlackfordBridlington CC4s.t.
1523Peter Fielding SmithRichardsons RT Cube4s.t.
1643Gerry LumbActive/CP Cycles RT2s.t.
1726Garry FulstowWilsons Wheels RT3s.t.
1846Mark MckeownWe love Mountains RT2s.t.
1919Karl DownsStar Bikes RT5s.t.
2059Paul RymerVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
2128Tony GoundryActive/CP Cycles RT3s.t.
2213Martin CockerillBridlington CC3s.t.
2353Brad PalmerCottingham Couriers2s.t.
2410Andrew CarrollHull Thursday RC2s.t.
2511Paul CampbellHull Thursday RC2s.t.
2647Craig MedcalfRichardsons RT Cube2s.t.
2758Stewart PickardBridlington CC3s.t.
2840Nick CouplandWe love Mountains RT5s.t.
2952Simon PickeringWe love Mountains RT2@ 9 sec
3077Tom England2s.t.
3163Paul WaddingtonVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
3212Steve CoatesWe love Mountains RT1s.t.
334David BettsTeam Swift3@12 sec
3439Steve Johnson3@ 15 sec
3568Tim WhiteHull Thursday RC2@ 17 sec
3631Glen HarrisonHull Thursday RC2s.t.
3765Rob StonesHull Thursday RC2s.t.
388Rob BrownVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
3969Nathan WilsonWilsons Wheels RT5@ 21 sec
4075Peter CoxLeeds Mercury2s.t.
4145Steve MacklinStar Bikes RT3s.t.
4321Nicholas FairfieldCity Road Club2@ 33sec
4425Dean FulstowWilsons Wheels RT4@ 36 sec
4574Gary Knowles3@ 46 sec
4654Derek PalmerCottingham Couriers2@ 55 sec
473Benjamin Bell3s.t.
4870Jason YoungCity Road Club4s.t.
492David AtkinBarton Wheelers3s.t.
5032Sam Hoad2@ 1’ 14”
dnf14Richard Cutsforth2
dnf24Stuart FletcherHull Thursday RC2
dnf27Alan GayTeam Swift1
dnf34Chris HollandVelo Club Beverley3
dnf48Nicola Moore1
dnf57Sebastian PickardBridlington CC2
dnf72Paul Noble2
dnf73Kevin Dodsworth1
punc38Lewis JacksonCottingham Courriers4
punc49Richard MooreStar Bikes RT5