Jul 09

Road Race League 2011 – Event 6

The circuit at Etton is much shorter than any other in the series and the time allowance for group one had to be cut back drastically to prevent overlap. Consequently we chopped the gap down to 2 minutes and this  gave us the chance to pull riders forward from the overpopulated group 2. Some didn’t seem to want to take up this advantage, but that’s ok. Penalties may be incurred moving forward but if you think that moving backwards to a faster group may help your training plans then that’s ok.

So the field set off as follows

Group One at 7:00:00

Victoria Hood, Tom MacDonald, Mark Robinson, Steve Green, Adrian Marsh, James Westmoreland, Andy Noble, Jonathon Snowdon and Ian Lord.

Group Two at 7:02:00

Andrew Carroll, Paul Campbell, Steve Coates, Richard Cutsforth, Lee Coulson, Paul Drop, Nicholas Fairfield, Stuart Fletcher, Glen Harrison, Sam Hoad, John Hopper, Chris Hutchinson, Gerry Lumb, Simon Pickering, Brad Palmer, Tim White and Tom England.

Group Three at 7:03:39

David Atkin, Benjamin Bell, Rob Brown, Garry Fulstow, Tony Goundry, Steve Macklin, Mark Mckeown, Paul Rymer, Gary Trees, Paul Waddington, Mark Walker and David Betts.

Group Four at 7:05:00

Mel Blackford, David Brearley, Rob Busby, Neil Dean, Peter Fielding Smith, Dean Fulstow, Lewis Jackson, Stephen Swales, Jason Young and Owen Sparvon.

Group Five at 7:07:00

Chris Daddy, Karl Downs, Matthew Fenton, Steven Guymer, Ben Ives, Nick Coupland, Richard Moore, Dave Shackleton and Nathan Wilson.

Victoria was perhaps the loser here as a few faster riders joined her group from group 2; but she’ll get there. Amazing how consistent the lap times were, and it really looked as if all would be together again for the finish, but some of the riders from group two were able to dig a little deeper on the last lap and keep away to the finish.

Lap Times were:

Group OneGroup TwoGroup ThreeGroup FourGroup Five
Lap One11.1510.4510.2510.169.50
Lap Two11.1910.3310.1810.069.50
Lap Three11.1410.3010.3410.239.59
Lap Four10.2710.4110.229.52
Lap Five10.3810.4010.169.52
Lap Six10.4210.099.54
Lap Seven10.079.31

A strong drive by Nathan Wilson almost made it to the front  group, just hanging off the back of the stragglers; another lap and it would all have been together. A good win for John Hopper which puts him in 5th place in the points’ competition, but Dave Shackleton’s lead looks almost unassailable, although a win by Chris Daddy would put him right in contention.
The next event, on the 21st July, is at Little Weighton is the penultimate in the series.


135John HopperCottingham Couriers2In 1: 15: 42
276Tom EnglandActive/CP Cycles RT2s.t.
353Brad PalmerCottingham Couriers2s.t.
415Lee CoulsonHull Thursday RC2s.t.
543Gerry LumbActive/CP Cycles RT2s.t.
611Paul CampbellHull Thursday RC2s.t.
731Glen HarrisonHull Thursday RC2s.t.
832Sam HoadBridlington CC2s.t.
921Nicholas FairfieldCity Road Club2s.t.
1036Chris HutchinsonBridlington CC2s.t.
1166Phil BixbyClifton CC1s.t.
1214Richard CutsforthVelo Club Beverley2s.t.
1320Paul DropVelo Club Beverley2s.t.
1475James Westmoreland1s.t.
1510Andrew CarrollHull Thursday RC2s.t.
1680Jonathon SnowdonActive/CP Cycles RT1s.t.
1769Nathan WilsonWilsons Wheels RT5@  6 secs
1868Tim WhiteHull Thursday RC2@  8 secs
1912Steve CoatesWe love Mountains RT2@  15 secs
2060David ShackletonWilsons Wheels RT5s.t.
2140Nick CouplandWe love Mountains RT5s.t.
2245Steve MacklinStar Bikes RT3s.t.
2349Richard MooreStar Bikes RT5s.t.
2452Simon PickeringWe love Mountains RT2s.t.
2522Matthew FentonCottingham Couriers5s.t.
2644Tom MacDonaldWe Love Mountains RT1s.t.
2737Ben IvesWe love Mountains RT5s.t.
286David BrearleyCottingham Coureurs4s.t.
2971Mark RobinsonActive/CP Cycles RT1s.t.
3029Steven GuymerActive/CP Cycles RT5s.t.
3138Lewis JacksonCottingham Courriers4s.t.
3223Peter Fielding SmithRichardsons RT Cube4s.t.
335Mel BlackfordBridlington CC4s.t.
3462Gary TreesWilsons Wheels3s.t.
3577Andy NobleWilsons Wheels1@  21 secs
3628Tony GoundryActive/CP Cycles RT3s.t.
3764Mark WalkerHull Thursday RC3s.t.
3826Garry FulstowWilsons Wheels RT3s.t.
3959Paul RymerVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
4063Paul WaddingtonVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
4173Steve GreenHull Thursday RC1s.t.
4274Adrian Marsh1@  27 secs
432David AtkinBarton Wheelers3s.t.
4470Jason YoungCity Road Club4s.t.
458Rob BrownVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
4619Karl DownsStar Bikes RT5@  34 secs
474David BettsTeam Swift4@  36 secs
4846Mark MckeownWe love Mountains RT3s.t.
499Rob BusbyRichardsons RT Cube4s.t.
5025Dean FulstowWilsons Wheels RT4@  1’ 19”


1David ShackletonWilsons Wheels RT07101010037
2Chris DaddyStar Bikes RT08798032
3Ben IvesWe love Mountains RT100860024
4Stephen SwalesActive/CP Cycles RT04577023
5John HopperCottingham Couriers900201021
6Nathan WilsonWilsons Wheels RT010900019
7Brad PalmerCottingham Couriers70000815
8David BrearleyCottingham Coureurs03380014
8Matthew FentonCottingham Couriers00653014
10Lee CoulsonHull Thursday RC00042713
11Mark RobinsonActive/CP Cycles RT6003009
11Tom EnglandActive/CP Cycles RT0000099
11Karl DownsStar Bikes RT0000909
11Richard MooreStar Bikes RT0900009
11Steve Johnson0040509
16Paul RymerVelo Club Beverley8000008
17Gerry LumbActive/CP Cycles RT0100067
17Jason YoungCity Road Club0010607
19Steven GuymerActive/CP Cycles RT0600006
20Paul CampbellHull Thursday RC0000055
20Paul WaddingtonVelo Club Beverley5000005
20Lewis JacksonCottingham Courriers0500005
23Glen HarrisonHull Thursday RC0000044
23Rob BrownVelo Club Beverley0000404
23Tony GoundryActive/CP Cycles RT3000104
23Theo BrumheadExeter Uni. CC4000004
27Sam HoadBridlington CC0000033
28Nicholas FairfieldCity Road Club0000022
28Chris HutchinsonBridlington CC1000012
28Mel BlackfordBridlington CC0020002
28Nick CouplandWe love Mountains RT2000002
28Rob StonesHull Thursday RC0200002
33Gary TreesWilsons Wheels0001001