Aug 05

Road Race League 2011 – Event 8

Here’s the result from Thursday’s final event in the road race series.

The last event in the road race series took place on the Walkington circuit to decide who would be the overall winner. It was a very ‘Iffy’ night with rainclouds threatening and thunderstorms forecast, fortunately these didn’t occur and there was only slight wind, but it was a gloomy evening.

In group one was Sam Hoad, Jonathon Snowdon, Phil Bixby, Andy Noble, Sebastian Pickard, Victoria Hood and David Betts (to look after Victoria).

Group two after two minutes was Lee Coulson, Brad Palmer, Tom England, Paul Campbell, Gerry Lumb, Paul Drop, Glen Harrison, Peter Cox, Rob Stones, Nicholas Fairfield, Cameron Brooks, Craig Medcalf, Simon ickering, Tim White, Richard Cutsforth and Andrew Carroll.

In group three after another minute and half were John Hopper, Paul Rymer, Mark Robinson, Steve Johnson, Marloe Rodman, David Atkin, Paul Waddington, John Askew, Tony Goundry, Rob Brown, Mark Walker, Stewart Pickard, Neil Dean, Mark Mckeown and Benjamin Bell.

Group four, a further minute and half afterwards, comprised Stephen Swales, David Brearley, Karl Downs, Jason Young, Lewis Jackson, Peter Fielding Smith and Mel Blackford.

Finally, seven and a half minutes after the first group set off, were David Shackleton, Chris Daddy, Nathan Wilson, Steven Guymer, Matthew Fenton, Richard Moore and Nick Coupland.

On paper it seemed that the scratch group would score another win tonight, but there was a lot of strategy involved. Dave Shackleton’s only challenger, Chris Daddy, was in the same group so it was in Shack’s interests to preserve his lead by not giving Chris any chance to get points. Nathan Wilson was also there to protect the lead and make sure he finished in front of Chris. Chris had Richard Moore to help drive the scratch group but if he did too much work himself he’d be knackered in the sprint, plus he was riding on his dad’s bike as his electric gears on his own bike had gone kaput. A good part of the scratch group engine was missing because Ben Ives had had an accident during the week and was absent, and Marloe Rodman had broken his frame and actually rode a lap with group three on a mountain bike sporting knobblies.

After one lap the gap from front to back was 4:50. After two laps when groups one, two and three merged as did groups four and five, it had come down to 2:20. When the bell rang for the last lap the gap was 1:30 and now looking a little uncertain. At the finish Nathan Wilson was first of the scratch bunch back, three quarters of a minute in arrears.

Lap Times


Group oneGroup twoGroup threeGroup fourGroup five
Lap one19: 0318: 0317: 0917: 2416: 24
Lap two18: 4717: 4717: 1117: 4616: 16
Lap three17: 3516: 45
Lap four17: 3116: 47

The Barrel Inn in Walkington has rarely, if ever, seen so many people within its walls, all gathered for the prize presentation. Prizes were given to the first thirty in the points competition and £100 worth of goods presented by Ken Ellerker Cycles. Dave Shackleton was acclaimed the overall winner and he thanked everyone for the organisation. Mrs Baskerville presented the under 23 trophy for Ben Ives in memory of her son Paul who was killed in an event some years ago. The Vic Sutton trophy for the best veteran was presented to John Hopper who overtook Steve Swales in this last event.  Paul Rymer was acclaimed the best Junior and Rob Stones, not the oldest swinger in town, but the best old age pensioner. Rob has been given no age-related favours in these events.

The racing has been really excellent and I’ve had my job cut out to work out everybody’s position. Thanks to a number of people who’ve helped over the series. Most of all we should thank Mark Robinson and John Galbraith for running the series.

Maybe see you at my training rides in January?

171Mark RobinsonActive/CP Cycles RT31: 12: 56
259Paul RymerVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
315Lee CoulsonHull Thursday RC2s.t.
435John HopperCottingham Couriers3s.t.
52David AtkinBarton Wheelers3s.t.
620Paul DropVelo Club Beverley2s.t.
71John AskewActive/CP Cycles RT3s.t.
811Paul CampbellHull Thursday RC2s.t.
974Peter CoxLeeds Mercury2s.t.
1039Steve JohnsonWe love Mountains3s.t.
1164Mark WalkerHull Thursday RC3s.t.
1273Cameron BrooksClifton CC2s.t.
1363Paul WaddingtonVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
1428Tony GoundryActive/CP Cycles RT3s.t.
1577Tom EnglandActive/CP Cycles RT2s.t.
1647Craig MedcalfRichardsons RT Cube2s.t.
1752Simon PickeringWe love Mountains2@ 2 secs
1832Sam HoadBridlington CC1s.t.
1965Rob StonesHull Thursday RC2s.t.
2053Brad PalmerCottingham Couriers2s.t.
218Rob BrownVelo Club Beverley3s.t.
2258Stewart PickardBridlington CC3s.t.
2343Gerry LumbActive/CP Cycles RT2@ 5 secs
2417Neil DeanHull Thursday RC3s.t.
2576Jonathon SnowdonHull & East Riding RC1s.t.
2668Tim WhiteHull Thursday RC2@ 7 secs
2746Mark MckeownWe love Mountains3s.t.
2866Phil BixbyClifton CC1@ 8 secs
2921Nicholas FairfieldCity Road Club2@ 11 secs
3014Richard CutsforthVelo Club Beverley2s.t.
3175Andy NobleWilsons Wheels1@ 13 secs
323Benjamin BellWilsons Wheels RT3@ 24 secs
3310Andrew CarrollHull Thursday RC2s.t.
3469Nathan WilsonWilsons Wheels RT5@ 46 secs
3516Chris DaddyStar Bikes RT5s.t.
3629Steven GuymerActive/CP Cycles RT5s.t.
3760David ShackletonWilsons Wheels RT5s.t.
3838Lewis JacksonCott. Coureurs4s.t.
3919Karl DownsStar Bikes RT4@ 48 secs
4023Peter Fielding-
Richardsons RT Cube4s.t.
4149Richard MooreStar Bikes RT5@ 50 secs
4261Stephen SwalesActive/CP Cycles RT4@ 51 secs
4340Nick CouplandWe love Mountains5@ 53 secs
4470Jason YoungCity Road Club4s.t.
4522Matthew FentonCottingham Couriers5@ 54 secs
466David BrearleyCottingham Coureurs4@ 1’ 06”
4757Sebastian PickardBridlington CC1
4833Victoria HoodTeam Swift1
494David BettsTeam Swift1
31Glen HarrisonHull Thursday RC2
72Marloe RodmanTeam  SportsCover3
5Mel BlackfordBridlington CC4

and Points overall

1David ShackletonWilsons Wheels RT0710101007044
2Chris DaddyStar Bikes RT0879806038
3John HopperCottingham Couriers90020100728
3Nathan WilsonWilsons Wheels RT01090009028
5Ben IvesWe love Mountains10086001025
6Stephen SwalesActive/CP Cycles RT0457700023
7Paul RymerVelo Club Beverley8000005922
8Lee CoulsonHull Thursday RC0004270821
9Mark RobinsonActive/CP Cycles RT60030001019
10David BrearleyCottingham Coureurs0338002016
11Brad PalmerCottingham Couriers7000080015
12Steven GuymerActive/CP Cycles RT0600008014
12Matthew FentonCottingham Couriers0065300014
14Richard MooreStar Bikes RT0900004013
15Steve JohnsonWe love Mountains0040500110
15Marloe RodmanTeam Sports Cover00000010010
17Tom EnglandActive/CP Cycles RT000009009
17Karl DownsStar Bikes RT000090009
19Paul CampbellHull Thursday RC000005038
20Gerry LumbActive/CP Cycles RT010006007
20Jason YoungCity Road Club001060007
22David AtkinBarton Wheelers000000066
23Paul DropVelo Club Beverley000000055
23Paul WaddingtonVelo Club Beverley500000005
23Lewis JacksonCott. Coureurs050000005
26John AskewActive/CP Cycles RT000000044
26Tony GoundryActive/CP Cycles RT300010004
26Rob BrownVelo Club Beverley000040004
26Glen HarrisonHull Thursday RC000004004
26Theo BrumheadExeter Uni. CC400000004
31Sam HoadBridlington CC000003003
31Peter Fielding
Richardsons RT Cube000000303
33Peter CoxLeeds Mercury000000022
33Rob StonesHull Thursday RC020000002
33Nicholas FairfieldCity Road Club000002002
33Nick CouplandWe love Mountains200000002
33Mel BlackfordBridlington CC002000002
33Chris HutchinsonBridlington CC100001002
39Gary TreesWilsons Wheels000100001