Mar 31

We Love Mountains TT Series Event 2 – Result

The second event of the  We Love Mountains TT series was held today on a cold and blustery day at Sproatley. An overnight change in the weather saw an end to the near perfect cycling weather we have enjoyed for the past 2 weeks and a return to more usual weather conditions. A strong northerly wind made the opening two legs grippy before the speed gradulay increased to a ripping finish.

To make matters even better large parts of the circuit have been freshly resurfaced with some loverly smooth tarmac making for a lovely fast course. Neil Cleminshaw and Mark Robinson rode to a well deserved victory by 11 seconds from John Askew and Tony Goundry. As they aren’t entered in the series the points for second went to John Ketley and Steve Macklin a further 12 seconds in arrears.

Darren Smith rode solo and produced an excellent time just 35 seconds behind the winners – top ride. In 5th Place were Andy Carrol and Mark Walker followed by Paul Campbell and Neil Dean who were lucky to beat Simon and I. Lucky in that if Simon hadn’t had to drag me round he would probably have gone quicker – off day or what I don’t know but it wasn’t pleasant racing today. A good turnout of marshals and helpers ensured everything ran smoothly .  Further down there were plenty of good rides and some competition looming for later in the season as fitness improves.

The next event is the first evening event on Tuesday 10th April and is the ultra fast prologue at Weedley.


HTRC 2 up TTT Sproatley – 31/3/2012
PositionRiderRiderFinish TimePoints
1Neil CleminshawMark Robinson33.2750
2John AskewTony Goundry33.38N/A
3Steve MacklinJohn Ketley33.5047
4Darren Smith34.02N/A
5Mark WalkerAndy Carroll35.0945
6Neil DeanPaul Campbell35.5844
7Paul KilvingtonSimon Pickering36.0143
8Simon JackJames Godfrey36.4742
9Joe RaineyJacob Trotter37.0641
10Phil Tillison37.4840
11Stuart FletcherDamian Kemp39.0239
12John SavageDave Percival39.2538
13Richard DeanJoe Dean40.2737
14Dave MillsonMike Kilgour40.5036
15Andy Abbott41.0735
16Vicktoria  HoodNicky Moore41.26N/A
17Alex Adams46.5434