Sep 18

Result of Jack Kirk Column and overall points table

Race report and series round-up

A fine and cool, but blustery, day saw a somewhat reduced field assemble for the final event of the TT series, the Jack Kirk Column at Sproatley.

With many of the series leaders either marshalling, riding elsewhere or saving their legs for another event later in the weekend the win was up for grabs. Mark Walker took a well-deserved victory in 35.15 to win by 50 seconds from Paul Kilvington, with Neil Dean leading in the next three riders including Steve Green and Mike Kilgour, all spread over about 20 seconds.

Although a strong wind was blowing it was a good day, and the wind was not directly in your face for much of the course, resulting in a fairly fast event and some good times. The finishing straight was really quick with 33-34 mph possible in places, and was the best bit of the lap.

I believe this was Mark’s first win in the TT series since starting riding in the series in 2004, although he has been in the top places on several occasions, especially in the hillier events which suit his lightweight build. Despite being faster than him last week at Bubwith, I knew he would take some beating on Saturday and I turned myself inside out trying to get a rare victory.

Thankfully he beat me by a good margin rather than a handful of seconds, and my first and probably only chance of victory (even if only because of the better riders’ absence) had slipped by, but I certainly tried my hardest and, despite losing a handful of seconds at a junction at the end of the first lap, could not have got more effort out as my heart rate readings for the event prove.

The event concluded with a buffet lunch and drinks in The Blue Bell in Sproatley where the overall winner Nick Coupland and section winners Neil Cleminshaw, Amanda Dean, Matthew Johnson and Graham Morgan were presented with vouchers and tickets for the annual dinner and prize presentation. A total prize fund of over £1500 was shared between the top 17 riders in the five categories thanks to the generous sponsorship of Cliff Pratt Cycles. Thanks to Ian and Ed for their support. The pub’s chips were the best I have ever tasted and is well worth a visit if you are passing by.

This was the 14th consecutive TT series that I have organised since creating the series as a pilot series of 5 races in 2000, as I was fed up of dodging traffic on the Beverley by-pass. It has certainly remained popular and well supported over those 14 years and this years racing was as good as any I can remember.

Going forward I think we need to improve certain aspects of the event safety and have written to both the committee and all the series entrants to outline what I believe needs addressing if we are to continue to organise club series that is safe on the slightly busier roads that we now have to contend with. Hopefully all riders will do their bit to ensure we do so.

The Sproatley result and the overall points table for the series are here to view or download.


TT Series result event 16 – Jack Kirk Column, Sproatley (pdf 44kb opens in  a new window)


TT Series 2013 final points table after event 16 (pdf 38kb opens in a new window)


Paul Kilvington
Club TT Secretary