Sep 30

President’s Ride 2013

Saturday 28 September saw thirteen riders meet on a beautiful autumn morning for the ‘annual’ HTRC President’s Invitation Ride.

Taking part, and gathered in the mild morning air outside Skidby Mill were:

Paul Kilvington
Will Thomas
Amanda Dean
Neil Dean
Andy Carroll
Mark Walker
Dave Millson
Graeme Lawton
Andy Smith
Bert Oosterbosch *
Les Barratt
Peter Andrews
Chris Brown.

Club President, Paul kilvington, led the riders on a flat route heading north-east of Skidby, anticlockwise, taking in (apologies if this goes awry – I’ve never ridden a lot of these roads!) Cottingham, Kingswood, Wawne, Long Riston, Catwick, North Frodingham, Gembling, then back via Nafferton, Wansford, Skerne, Hutton Cranswick, and then via Burn Butts Lane (insert saddle joke here) to Bracken, rolling south to Etton, Cherry and Bishop Burton, Walkington (where I turned for home, winning the sprint for the end of my drive), and via Little Weighton to finish at the Half Moon in Skidby.

A complimentary glass of barley-based rehydration fluid was then enjoyed by the remaining riders in the lovely September sun.

Thanks to Paul for a really enjoyable ride. I am planning to try to recreate the route on my own over the winter, to find out where the blazes we actually went!


Check out the President’s Ride 2013 in our Flickr set

President's Ride 2013


* Not really Bert Oosterbosch. When he eventually coughed up his real name it turns out it’s Mike Pickering!