Jun 12

TT Series Event 8 – Guymer and Dean win

Racing resumed on Tuesday following the postponement of the previous event number 7 at Etton two weeks ago. The two-up TTT was held at Sproatley after relocating from the Hardriders’ course in order to make organisation easier.

A lovely warm, sunny day threatened to spoil itself as heavy black cloud passed by about half-an-hour before the start. Thankfully it passed over without too much rain although it did get wet for five minutes and the wind picked up considerably. Thankfully, by time the first riders left the timekeeper, the sun was out again and the wind had subsided.

A field of 21 riders faced the timekeeper made up of nine teams and three solo riders.

Steven Guymer and Richard Dean took victory in a time of 32.10. Although, on paper, this looked like an unevenly matched team, they obviously rode we’ll together and set a very fast time. The course record is only 15 seconds quicker and they should both be congratulated for putting together such a good team performance. In second place was Graham Morgan and Tom Unwin who finished in 33-25, which considering they were both on standard road bikes, was an excellent time. Completing the podium was Neil Cleminshaw and Will Thomas in 33.36.


It was a strange night as although it seemed quite windy, and it was very hard coming back to Sproatley, it was certainly very quick. I rode with Neil Dean (who dragged me round and had me hanging on for grim death in places). We finished fourth team and our time of 35-30 was the quickest I have ever recorded on this circuit since we started using it in 2001. Ignoring the fact it was two-up, I have certainly been much fitter at times than I am at present, but other than the stretch past Maple garage into Sproatley the rest of the course as very quick which makes a nice change. The resurfaced stretch from Sproatley to the finish is certainly nice and fast now, even in a side wind.


Good times were also recorded by Nick Rogers and Danny Ponsett who both set very fast times riding solo. Mike Spenceley also made his TT series debut and admitted enjoying himself once he had finished – let’s be honest, most riders would say the same as the actual event is always hard if ridden properly. Hopefully he will join us again at the next even which is at Gilberdyke in two weeks’ time.


Thanks to Amanda Dean (and Neil) for organising the event and to Gil for timekeeping and all the marshals.


The next event is at Gilberdyke, on the circuit based on Bellasize Lane.


Photos by Andy Carroll and Chris Brown available from the HTRC Flickr


PositionRiderRiderFinish timePoints
1Richard DeanSteven Guymer32.1050
2Nick Rogers Solo33.10Private
3Tom UnwinGraham Morgan33.2547
4Neil CleminshawWill Thomas33.3645
5Danny Posnett Solo34.55Private
6Neil DeanPaul Kilvington35.3044
7Matthew JohnsonGeorge Leighton37.1843
8Mike KilgourDave Millson37.4242
9John SavageAdam King37.5641
10Ed WalkerRazwan Ilyas38.0240
11Stuart FletcherDamian Kemp38.4139
12Mike Spenceley Solo41.53Private


The updated points table at the half way point in the season is available below:


2014 TT Series Results of Event #8 – Sproatley


TT Series 2014 After 8 Events (updated)


Paul Kilvington
TT Secretary/Club President