Aug 30

Jim Trevor nets 4th on the hilly Yorkshire coast

Finishing in his best placing this season, Jim Trevor, ‘The Hellenic Hawk’, took a comfortable 4th position in the Yorkshire Coast Clarion Open 20.3 mile time trial on Saturday 14th June, 2014.


The event was excellently organised by local man Chris Goode.The event was part of the YCF SPOCO series.

Gradients steeper than 1:10

It was held on a hilly circuit in the Wolds between Scarborough and Bridlington. The circuit included two climbs with gradients steeper than 1:10, the first straight from the start so the lungs were screaming right from the line.


The second climb being the well-known ascent from Foxholes to Octon roundabout on the B1249.


Jim collected the prize for the fastest 40-49 veteran and represented the club wearing club colours during the presentation of prizes, post-event, where he was presented the prize on the podium by Chris Goode.

Good results for Trevor and Bielby

This was Jim’s third top ten open TT result after taking 6th place in Bridlington CC Open 25 two weeks earlier.


Additionally, representing Hull Thursday was Jim’s TT team-mate Richard Bielby, who completed the course to take a respectable 17th place.


Jim commented exclusively for HTRC website after the event that he “was pleased to have taken a fourth place in an open TT in 2014.”


Jim continued, “I don’t get to ride my TT bike very often these days, so fourth place is brilliant for me and for the club.”


Jim then added that this year he has decided to ride SPOCO events whenever possible rather than the generally more favoured dual carriageway ‘drag strips’.


Richard Bielby also spoke exclusively for HTRC website post-event and commented that he “was satisfied with the performance on such a hard course.”


Richard then added that his “early season preparations had been disturbed by a lingering flu, as well as his work commitments, so riding such a difficult circuit can be a bit gruelling on the body.”
Full results can be found below:



1 Stewart Pickard Bridlington CC 48.42
2 Andrew Pearson Huddersfield Star Whs 48.44
3 Andrew Askwith Bridlington CC 48.45
4 Jim Trevor Hull Thursday RC 50.01
5 Jacob Brown Team Swift 51.00
6 Duncan Sleigh Clifton C.C. York 51.15
7 Michael Schofield Clifton C.C. York 51.43
8 Ben Sixsmith Scarborough Paragon 52.36
9 Kevin Helliwell Bridlington CC 52.39
10 Craig Gath York Cycleworks 54.20
11 George Young Team Swift 54.37
12 Sebastian Pickard Bridlington CC 54.42
13 Steve McCall Huddersfield Star Whs 55.42
14 Mike Potter Scarborough Paragon 56.35
15 Robert Hatfield Calder Clarion 56.41
16 Dave Cook Clifton C.C. 56.43
17 Richard Bielby Hull Thursday RC 57.41
18 Dawn Blues Bridlington CC 59.05
19 K. Shuttleworth Holme Valley Wheelers 59.57
20 Mike Cole Huddersfield RC 60.19
21 Mel Bentley Wakefield CC 60.56
22 Dave Jenkinson Team Swift 61.03
23 Christopher Fisher Sowerby Brothers CRT 81.28


Alison Sarmiento Harrogate Nova CC DNS