Sep 14

The Hawk swoops to another TT record

Jim Trevor, ‘The Hellenic Hawk’, added the Veterans’ 50 mile TT record to his portfolio, beating the previous record held jointly by Gill Foston and Derek Roe by a 1:46 margin.

Jim reduced the time taken to cover the 50 miles from 1:51:59 to an impressive 1:50:13 in the closing BBAR event, organised by Yorkshire Road Club on the V259/1 near Thirsk.

The event was in jeopardy when organiser Steve Smith discovered over 2 miles (covered twice due to the two-lap nature of the course) of the A19/A168 tarmac planed leaving a very un-even surface as part of the road resurfacing works.

After making the proper risk assessment Steve decided to run the event taking into account the dry and mild conditions. Undoubtedly the Highways Agency did not help the finishing times and it was estimated that riding over 4 miles on some of the fastest parts of the course on such a surface was costing riders over a minute as they rattled across the roughness with 160psi 20mm tubs.

Otherwise the day proved to be good with 15mph southerly winds and warming conditions for the back end of the field.

The event included another BBAR showdown as Topham (reigning 2014 BBAR) took on the current 2015 season leader Bideau in this last chance attempt to claw back his title. Other top riders BBAR riders included Steve Irwin, Andy Jackson, Joel Weinman and Rob Townsend. Topham was victorious as Bideau DNF with back problems.

Speaking with HTRC website exclusively, Jim Trevor commented, “I have the ‘100’ record and the ‘15’, but this was the one I really wanted. I was there the day Gil and Derek took it back in 1997. The ‘50’ is a really tricky event to pace properly. Start to fast and you’ll pay in the last 20 miles. Start too slow and you’ll never recover the lost time as your body becomes fatigued.”

“Today I was even-paced throughout. I was like a metronome. I was 27.3 mph all the way round. I knew at 35 miles the record was on so I stayed calm and just rode to my ability. I didn’t get greedy.”

When asked about the other records Jim added, “I only just missed the ‘12hr’ record by 0.7 miles, which equates to 0.3%, so that has to be the target for next season. Clem (Neil Cleminshaw) and I have discussed purging the Vets’ records in our joint aim to ensure this is the best era of Vets’ time-trialling in the history of the club.

“Clem has two and now I have three. I’m going to make a deal with him… he has to take the ‘30’ and I’ll try for the ‘12hrs’. I think it’s a fair deal.”

Congratulations to Jim from the Hull Thursday Road Club committee and all the club’s members.

Result Sheet

1Adam TophamHigh Wycombe CCA51:15:0001:38:10
2Steve IrwinNorth Lancs RCA51:40:0001:38:27
3Andy JacksonTeam SwiftA52:47:0001:41:19
4Joel WainmanTeam SwiftA53:58:0001:43:37
5Rob TownsendTeam SwiftA54:24:0001:45:40
6Mark WolstenholmeTeam SwiftS55:58:0001:47:21
7Ian MillerBrigg & District Cycling ClubA55:42:0001:47:29
8John BrearleyCity RC (Hull)S55:42:0001:48:13
9Darren GeeTeesdale CRCA55:48:0001:48:19
10Mark NultyGlossop Kinder VeloS55:50:0001:48:39
11Matthew WildeHD RevolutionsS57:22:0001:49:34
12Jim TrevorHull Thursday RCA57:16:0001:50:13
13Dominic HillBec CCA57:24:0001:50:15
14Doug HartIlkley CCA58:00:0001:50:35
15Thomas DenwoodHarrogate Nova CCS58:18:0001:51:42
16Philip TurtonYorkshire Road ClubA57:48:0001:51:59
17David RobinsonTyneside Vagabonds CCA58:02:0001:52:39
18Sean HuntLincoln Whs CCA58:51:0001:52:42
19Angus WilsonDundee Thistle - SCUA58:36:0001:53:09
20Stewart PickardVive Le VeloA58:26:0001:53:32
21Lee CairnsTeam SwiftA59:03:0001:53:35
22Colin HayesLiverpool Century RCA59:36:0001:54:35
23Stu WoodWetherby WhsA59:16:0001:54:48
24Gareth MetcalfeOtley CCA59:12:0001:54:52
25Nigel ClementsonWigan Whs CCA59:25:0001:55:27
26Chris HopkinsonCC DesiragearA01:00:1901:56:10
27Paul McgowanWarrington Road ClubA59:39:0001:56:11
28Roger BromileyHarrogate Nova CCA01:00:3901:57:22
29Chris SmithCondor Road ClubS01:00:3101:57:34
30Andrew AskwithBridlington CCA59:45:0001:57:36
31Richard SheldrakeLincoln Whs CCA01:00:2401:57:52
32Austin FoyNorth Lancs RCS01:01:3901:58:03
33Greg MeliaTyneside Vagabonds CCS01:02:0701:58:38
34Matthew HallamValley Striders CCS01:02:0201:58:47
35Andrew CallaghanCalder ClarionA01:01:1901:59:30
36Chris GoodeYorkshire Coast ClarionA01:02:0402:00:36
37Daniel ShawHalifax Imperial WhsA01:03:0802:02:49
38Stephen MoorhouseNelson WheelersA01:03:5202:03:19
39Keith SibbaldCramlington CCA01:04:3802:04:09
40Paul BrierleyHuddersfield RCA01:04:3002:04:45
41James GeorgeHD RevolutionsA01:05:0002:04:47
42Mike PotterScarborough ParagonA01:05:3302:05:33
43Gary SimpsonYorkshire Road ClubA01:04:4802:05:52
44John MurphyGloucester City CCC01:06:2702:07:26
45Vicky JowettTeam SwiftW01:06:4902:08:03
46John Eric PotterBridlington CCB01:07:3002:08:08
47Kevin WatsonCalder ClarionB01:06:1502:08:42
48Andrew VaughanCity RC (Hull)A01:06:5002:09:16
49Allen BellYorkshire Road ClubB01:06:2402:09:23
50Mike ShacklockYorkshire Road ClubC01:08:3502:12:00
51David LaneRavensthorpe CCA01:09:1802:12:14
52John HallasValley Striders CCA01:08:5702:13:29
53Stephen WoodrupYorkshire Road ClubB01:07:5802:13:46
54Peter YatesOtley CCC01:09:2402:14:01
55Michael HutchingsHarrogate Nova CCA01:09:4502:14:58
56Steve GarbuttYorkshire Road ClubA01:09:1102:15:35
57John BainesYorkshire RCC01:10:1202:16:31