HTRC Committee

Several new faces have stepped up to fill committee roles this year and it is with great appreciation and thanks we all give to those stepping down,  for all their hard work in making Hull Thursday one of the best cycle clubs in the area.

 It is hoped the ongoing and incoming members can continue this sterling work and keep Hull Thursday high on the podium of the local club circuit.


Club President – Richard Guymer

Richard started cycling in 1972 with the City Road Club (Hull) later becoming a life member.
He has competed in time trials, road races, mountain bike, cyclo-cross and track. He has also organised events in most of these disciplines.
Latterly his racing took second place to transporting son Steve around the country and abroad to race first in British Schools events and then BC and CTT events. Recently he has taken to riding in the French Alps and has ridden the Alps Open Tour.

Richard is also a qualified coach with the Association of British Cycling Coaches (ABCC) and sits on their national committee.

Club Coach and Youth Development Officer – Richard Guymer and Lee Coulson

Both Richard and Lee having broad coaching and youth development experience we can look forward to their input in leading the youngsters in fun cycle sport based activities,  both on, and off road.

One of Richard’s claims to fame is beating a young Malcolm Elliot in a sprint for second place in the Hull Thursday Road Club road race many years ago!

Lee is also our road and track secretary

Lee Coulson









Secretary – Dave Millson

Dave Millson was recently re-elected as the Club Secretary for the current season and is a keen off road enthusiast taking part in many a cyclo-cross, and mountain bike events as well as road.

Assistant Secretary– Mike Kilgour

Mike KilgourA keen and able road cyclist, Mike has been re-elected to the position of Club Assistant Secretary for the coming season.

Press and Publicity Officer– Richard Dean

Cool, calm and retro. That is our press officer Rich Dean. He doesn’t get his bike dirty to ride less than 100 miles. He is a great believer in Rule 5 and is so old school he still rides with toe straps. Road racing, cyclo-cross and TTs are his main passions. He also loves grand tours. He has several 1,300-mile epic rides under his wheels. Don’t get him started on how all bicycle components are made of cheese. He is Mr Molitov and has some viral Facebook videos of Budapest to Hull to prove it (50 views so far). He is the club’s regular MC at the presentation night and his fee for the evening is bigger than Jack Whitehall’s.

Scene Magazine Editor– Amanda Dean

For many years Ron Nozedar was Scene, the club’s magazine. On his retirement from the editor’s role Scene was taken over by then Road Racing Secretary, Mark Walker.

On Mark’s departure to Wold Top Actif RT in 2016, Amanda Dean stepped in to take over the publication and offer it to members as an e-magazine, published every month and emailed out.

Scene contains articles from members, committee news, photographs, racing news from both on and off-road events, and general interest features aimed at carrying on the club’s tradition of producing a ‘hard copy’ newsletter.

Current and past issues of Scene are to be found above on this website.


Road/Track Secretary – Lee Coulson
A strong cyclist Lee has plenty of experience on both track, road and other cycle disciplines, and he’s also a dab hand at organising events too.

Lee Coulson









Time Trial Secretary – Dougie Jaram

Inspired by the then Lizzie Armistead’s sprint in the London Olympics Road race, Doug is a relatively new cyclist and was introduced into the club by the former president Paul Kilvington. Originally he came from an off road background in motorcross but now enjoys Road Racing and Time Trials with a focus on 25s or 50s. Doug is the time trial secretary and along with club president Richard Guymer organises the club TT series.

Doug is also organising the club’s Saturday chain gang,  so if you want some real hard training, he’s your man!


Treasurer and Off Road Secretary– Paul Campbell

Paul is an experienced road, mountain and cyclo-cross rider, and as a long term Hull Thursday member, his commitment to the club knows no bounds.


Website Editor – Mark Mckeown
No photo description available.Mark has raced with Hull Thursday over a fair period and has a deep appreciation for the sporting time trial and road race courses Hull Thursday promote.  As a relatively late starter to active cycle sport in his twenties and now almost tipping his half century in years, there is good reason for his desire to promote cycle sport,  and not just the fun and social aspects of the racing scene,  but also for the sustainability in health, as well as transport and the broad benefits to communities the activity brings.
Mark is a busy parent, cycle courier and reflecting on his background in sport health and exercise science research, and previous roles as racing team creator, coach and manager,  he occasionally provides health and performance focused consultations.

Clothing Officer– Vacant


Committee Member – Andy Paulls

Andy started cycling in the mid 80s being greatly influenced by the battles of LeMond and Hinault in the Tour De France, and enjoyed road racing and time trialling until embarking on his career.

Andy returned to cycling a couple of years ago and is enjoying the developments in the cycling world such as carbon frames, power meters and marginal gains. He is very interested in nutrition and new training techniques and technologies, and how they could contribute to racing at club level

Committee Member – Chris Devaney

Committee Member – Phil McCormick



Non-Committee Roles

Membership Officer – Dave Millson

Equipment Officer – Andy Cawley

Trophy Custodian – Richard Guymer

Club Welfare Officer – Rachel Guymer

Auditors – Liz Kilgour and Geoff Rawson


Life Members

Les Barratt

John Cain

Andy Cawley

Laurie Chesney

Neil Cleminshaw

Martin Cockerill

Gil Foston

Billy Holmes

Mickie Hornby

Dennis Hunter

Paul Kilvington

Pete Ledaine

Andy MacFarlane

Ron Nozedar

Ray Robson

Jim Sampson

Barry Trotter